Lost in Temptation (Regency Chase #1) by Lauren Royal

After the children’s book The Diary of a Wimpy Kid, here’s something that’s definitely adult. Technically, I finished this first, but I just got around to writing about this later. Probably because I enjoyed The Diary more than I enjoyed this one.

lost

This was a free read on Kindle, and honestly I don’t think I would’ve read this otherwise. I have read Lauren Royal earlier—The Viscount’s Wallflower Bride, which was a “sweet & clean romance” version of Violet. It seems like there are quite a few novel/book pairs like that. It felt a bit odd to me, but I saw that Lauren Royal writes with her daughter, Devon Royal, to come up with these “sweet & clean” versions of her “steamy” novels. I’m not sure why though.

Coming to this book at hand… The story is about Alexandra. She has always been the proper lady, always doing things as she is expected to. She was in one-sided love with her brother’s friend Tristan Nesbitt as a child (teenager?). Alexandra accepted that she couldn’t be with him and decided to move on when he went away. But after many years, when she is about to be engaged to a proper suitor, she decides to leave it all for Tristan.

Review:

I felt like the novel was split into two parts—one where Tristan and Alexandra get together and one where Alexandra tries to find the culprit of a crime Tristan was accused of. It just felt like two different books. The characters are all right, nothing special. They were not quite entertaining but not quite boring either. I would’ve liked to see more of the sibling interaction that was shown sparsely in the first half. The novel also conveniently uses the problem of sleepwalking to move the story along. If not for Tristan’s sleepwalking, they wouldn’t have gotten married. The mystery in the second half had a predictable end. The romance didn’t feel realistic either. It was too rushed initially.

It is an easy and quick read. That’s a good thing because the story isn’t worth too much effort or time. There is a lot of talk about baking cookies and other delicious treats, which got me hungry! 😀

Lost in Temptation also has a “sweet & clean romance” version, called Alexandra. In case you are not into reading explicit sexual descriptions, go for that (I guess; I haven’t read Alexandra).

My rating: ★★☆☆☆

Published by

krypptic

This is me. Artist anonymous.

Leave a comment