Review – BookChor

Indian book shoppers, rejoice! There is now another option available if you are looking for good deals on books! And it’s this online bookshop called BookChor.

book-chor-logo-256

I was just checking out apps on Google Play Store, related to books, and happened to stumble upon this app. I was intrigued by the name, of course [“chor” means “thief,” in case you didn’t know], but I was also curious about the prices. So I installed the app, and here I am.

After reading the reviews, I saw they were mostly good. So I decided to take a chance. It took me about a day to actually select the books I wanted to buy—there are so many! But I was still hesitant to pay online, considering I didn’t know anyone personally who had used this app, so I went for COD (cash on delivery).

Here are the books I bought:

My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult

20170904_195514

Look at the hand-written note on this one! It’s sweet, isn’t it? 

  • Listed paperback (new) price: INR 270.00
  • BookChor price: INR 108.00

Before I Go to Sleep by S.J. Watson

20170904_195456

  • Listed paperback (new) price: INR 319.00
  • BookChor price: INR 178.00

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson

20170904_195523

  • Listed paperback (new) price: INR 239.00
  • BookChor price: INR 98.00

I ordered these books on 27 Aug 2017, and I received them today (04 Sep 2017). Not bad at all!

If you are in India and are looking for used books (or even new books), give this site/app a try. And if you shop for more that INR 299, shipping is free. As far as I can tell, they ship only in India. I could not see any information about the area they ship to. The site could definitely use a makeover, probably include more information. The FAQ section is seriously lacking. But I’m happy for now.

Published by

krypptic

This is me. Artist anonymous.

2 thoughts on “Review – BookChor”

Leave a comment